Flickerfest 2015                                                

Bush Mechanics : Best Australian Animation


Award of Excellence July 2013

Annual HREOC Human Rights Medals and Awards

Print Category 2007
Highly Commended
Voices from the Heart of the Nation. In partnership with Reconciliation Australia and News Limited


ATOM Award

Winner 2012
Best Docudrama

Finalist 2011Logo for finalist in ATOM 2011 Awards
Best Indigenous Resource category
Animating Jukurrpa series

Manyu Wana children's series


Australian Film Institute

Open Craft Award 1999
Bush Mechanics - Francis Kelly for Original Concept

Bob Plasto Award

Francis Jupurrurla Kelly 2012
For significant contribution to the Northern Territory screen industry


Fist Full of Films Festival


Best Long Short Film. Bush Mechanics - Animated Directors: Jason Japaljarri Woods & Jonathan Daw. Producers: Michael Tayor & Jeff Bruer


Best Film. Jack and Jones. Written and directed by Jason Woods.

Best Animation. Nyirripi Settlement History.

Finalist. Karnanganja Animation.


Finalist. Marjirdi

Foxtel Australian Documentary Prize

Finalist 2012

Tudawali Award

Francis Jupurrurla Kelly 2011
The award is given to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the development of Indigenous media or the creation of a landmark body of work in film and television.

Remote Indigenous Media Festival


  • Best Animation/Special Effects - Mern an Ker
  • Best Culture Video - Willowra Youth Camp
  • Best Music Video - Unified
  • Best Oral History - Willowra Old Times
  • Facilitator of the Year - Jonathan Daw
  • NITV Acting Award - Elijah Jones (Coniston)
  • PAW Radio Emerging Talent - Maxwell Tasman (Lajamanu)
  • PAW Radio Best Broadcaster - Dennis Charles (Yuelamu)


  • Best Animation/Special Effects - Zombie Driver
  • Best Community Video - Rain at Yuendumu
  • Best Community Service Announcement - PAW Radio Recruitment video
  • Best RIBS Website - PAW Media website
  • Best Radio Documentary - The Coming of the Cattle
  • CAAMA John Macumba RIBS Operator of the Year - Dennis Charles, Yuelamu Community
    • The reasons for the Award
      Dennis Charles has shown consistent commitment to radio show for the last 12 months, broadcasting in language 5 days a week, promoting strong community and local music.
      In the Stockmen radio documentary project, he demonstrated 100% effort for this important oral history project, recording hours of interviews with old stockmen, translating Anmatyerr into English and editing the mix on Protools.
      There have been huge improvements in his live in on-air presentation since he first started, as a result of constant practice, keen interest in learning how to make good radio, and participation in interstate training courses.
      He has enthusiastically worked to develop wide range of radio skills, including live outside broadcasting from Yuendumu Road Safety Song Contest, and interviewing a range of people from the Trachoma team to Liam Jurrah.
      He is integral member of the PAW radio network, providing an Anmatyerr voice and , through his work, encouraging strong language and culture retention.

      CAAMA is proud to give this award to Dennis JUPURRURLA Charle.s
  • Stephen McKenzie Award for Lifetime Contribution to Indigenous Television - Francis Kelly, PAW Media
  • Facilitator of the Year - Tony Collins (PAW Media radio documentary trainer)
  • PAW Media Emerging Talent (Radio) - Norbert Morris
  • PAW Media Best RIBS Operator - Dennis Charles




  • Art and Culture Award (Video) - Laramba Oral Histories 5 and 6
  • Community Video - Highly Commended - Anmatjere Man
  • Preston Lifetime Achievement Award - Francis Jupurrurla Kelly

West End Film Festival, Brisbane

Indigenous Film Maker Award 2012
Jason Japaljarri Woods for Jack and Jones